Daily Covet: Table, tables and more tables

My two older kids have started back to school this week – don’t get me started on how early this is – and I have been inspired to start working on my house.

I love this house so much, but it’s getting awfully crowded in here. We’ve looked for years at other homes in our neighborhood and have yet to find anything we love nearly as much. So, while we are deciding whether to stay and add on or sell at some point, we are trying to maximize the space we do have.

To help make space, I’ve decided that some stuff needs to go or at least be relocated to a better spot. I’d also like to replace some things that aren’t my favorite or repurpose them. I’ve been fortunate enough to inherit a lot of beautiful furniture, but am really getting to the point where I want to thoughtfully decorate and arrange my own spaces with things that I love.

Fast forward to a new rug. I took out a traditional floral rug in black and switched it with a more modern rug. It’s actually mid-century-ish in turquoise, navy, beige and gold tones that match my walls, sofa and darker antique furniture. I thought it would be the perfect addition to the room and force me to update. It was also sooo inexpensive, so I won’t be a freak about having my family actually “live” with it and on it – ok, less of a freak.

IMG_4833

So now, I’m looking to replace some other dark antiques with lighter pieces. This clear glass coffee table is definitely more modern than the dark table I have now. And it’s the perfect piece to show off my new rug while still providing me with a space for flowers, my beautiful coffee table books and for drinks when we have company.

GetPhoto.ashx

Next, I’d like some new occasion tables with a modern edge and a little bling. So far, my favorites are these two sets. I love the “bamboo” legs and pale, gold metal of the first ones and they are a great mix of traditional and modern.

I absolutely adore the second set too and feel like they would pop against the rug. And they are also so affordable! The only downside to these tables, fingerprints. I’m going to have to get much more regular about cleaning up fingerprints!

GetPhoto.ashx

GetPhoto.ashx

With exception of the rug, I haven’t pulled the trigger on anything yet. But at least I’m moving in the direction of creating a space that I absolutely love. Next up, lamps, pendants and sconces….

Leave a Reply

