Omaha Fashion Week

A very overdue post this is about Omaha Fashion Week, but one of the few times I actually took a pic of myself in my event “get up.”

And sadly, the awful photo was taken by me, awkwardly using my cell camera and a full length mirror.  You get the idea, right?

Michael Kors linen peplum jacket (old), White House Black Market Tank; Mossimo Belt, Target; Vintage navy organza knife pleat skirt; Nine West cage booties (old).

So, my thoughts on Omaha’s fashion week.  It’s been moved to a new venue, KANEKO, and the production was awesome.  It has  become the largest regional fashion week production in the States, drawing talent from all over the midwest.

I saw children’s collections by Hollie Hannish and Yolanda Diaz, and women’s collections by Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Olajide Cooper for Kotero, Leah Casper and Angela Balderston.

Much of the show seemed very costume-y.  And rightly so, as Leah Casper actually worked in costumes for the Metropolitan Opera in New York City.  However, Yolanda Diaz’s take on children’s clothing was downright “Suess-like” in flimsy jersey, and definitely something you would (and should) only see on stage.

Olajide Cooper is an artist, poet, sign language and Spanish teacher, and much more.  Her show was much like theater, in that the models not only walked the runway – I use this term loosely as they were walking on varying heights of blocks tied to their feet at an almost standstill speed – they also portrayed different emotions she was trying to embody with her collection.

The fabrics and textures were colorful and interesting, as was her decision to paint both her African-American and caucasion models in crayola black.  In addition, they had some ethereal face painting with glitter that I enjoyed in a weird way.

I found much of what went down the runway hard to wear, with the exception of Elizabeth Fitzgerald’s Kate Blue collection and Hollie Hannish’s children’s collection.

At the end of the day, I love that my little midwestern city has jumped head first into another segment of what is usually a larger city’s cultural claim.  I’ve become a big fan, if not of everything that went down the runway, of the event and the purpose.

You can bet I’ll be returning in August for the Spring show.

Leave a Reply

