Daily Covet: Cork is for wine bottles

Some of you might remember that I have been searching furiously for a pair of black sandals to replace my once favorite sandals that walked a million miles with me.

Well, I thought I had found them and was so excited… then a little disappointed… then a lot disappointed… so much so, that I am sending them back.  I won’t go into a long list of details about the deterioration of what I thought was going to be the perfect pair of sandals but let’s just say, I’m surprised anyone would want to put their label on something so cheap and shotty!

Nine West "Saffia", Piperlime.com sale $69.99

As you can see, the culprits are awfully adorable and I wore them often for several weeks.  They were the perfect length for my longer jeans, flow-y linen pants (yep, finally got ’em!) and looked really cute with sundresses too.  But little by little, I started to peel back the layers – literally – so off they go to Piperlime.com‘s “Return Heaven.”

So after returning from a trip that sealed their fate, I have again tracked down a pair of black sandals with a wedge heel, ankle strap and small platform.  You wouldn’t think this such an incredibly difficult task.  However, try to find a pair of sandals these days that don’t include cork or raffia heels.

Go on, I dare you…

charles by Charles David "Tickler", Zappos.com $90

I have just checked tracking information and it seems these adorable little gems are “out for delivery” as I type this post.  Thanks to Zappos.com and a friend with a “preferred status”, they are arriving today.  I have always been a fan of Charles David shoes and have been wearing them for 20 years.  In fact, they were once “higher end” but I think the company sold out and now they are called “charles by Charles David.”  Not as swanky but the comfort factor remains, which is all I really care about.

So, cross your fingers and keep your eyes out for a follow-up of pure jubilation… or possibly utter disgust.  Let’s hope not.

Leave a Reply

