Oscars Wrap-up

I actually watched almost the entire Oscar show last night for the first time in years.  I used to be so much more into it because my husband and I were serious movie buffs and would see almost every (if not every) movie nominated!

This year, I attended a really great Oscar Party with some friends.  We noshed on sushi, drank chocolate martinis and had Barefoot Contessa coconut cupcakes.  Ok, so the food was the high point… but still, I think it was a pretty good show after all.

As most of you can guess, I watch it mainly for the gowns.  And I wasn’t disappointed last night.  There were a few iffy ensembles but even the bad ones were worn by really beautiful women.  Case and point:  Cate Blanchett, who is one of my favorites.  I loved her stunning skin and hair but her dress looked like one of those simulated videos of the fertilization of an egg.

Cate Blanchett in Givenchy

And then there was Reece Witherspoon in a very unexciting black and white number with her “I Love Jeanie” ponytail… better suited for Legally Blonde.

Reece Witherspoon in Giorgio Armani Privé

My favorite gown of the night was worn by Gwyneth Paltrow, who just generally has really good style.  Her Calvin Klein sheath was simple but simply stunning.

Gwyneth Paltrow in Calvin Klein

My second favorite was Scarlett’s one of a kind Dolce & Gabbana gown.  I loved the color, the peekaboo lace.  In a word: Stunning!

Scarlett Johansson in Doce & Gabbana

And last but not least, in any sense of the word, Helen Mirren.  Her smokey taffeta Vivienne Westwood gown was subtle yet sexy and full of age-appropriate glamour.  She’s just radiant in anything but always has fantastic fashion instincts!

Helen Mirren in Vivienne Westwood

Leave a Reply

