Daily Covet: My home needs a new facade

Front porch decor compliments of Pottery Barn, porch not for sale.

Some time ago, my then three-year-old commented on a picture of a very posh little home office space in the Pottery Barn Catalog.  He said matter of factly, “I wish we lived there.”  Funny, I thought and decided that I too wished we lived there.

Well, now I’m wishing this was the front of my home as it would look for the holidays… again compliments of Pottery Barn.  While my home has wonderful curb appeal in the spring, summer and early fall – it looks barren and dead by the time Christmas rolls around.  Columns for wrapping green boughs around?  Sadly a cold, brick porch with a wrought iron railing….  Window boxes for stacking greenery, big bulbs or other holiday gimcracks?  No window boxes… only chocolate brown trim on our one asymmetrical window.  Loads of windows for adorable little white glowing candles?  Again the asymmetry of this home makes it very hard to decorate as lights, candles, decorations would all be located on one side.

I realize this is probably a fake front porch but I do sometimes wish I had grand old home with columns or a huge front porch so that I could decorate ’til my hearts content.  But who are we kidding?  I’ve barely managed to get out the decorations for the space that I do have!

Leave a Reply

