WHY? WHY? WHY?


Why can’t I get good at running?  On Saturday morning, I went to the gym and ran for 60 straight minutes and I can honestly say, it wasn’t a half bad experience.  So, I decided that I might consider thinking about training for a half marathon – you can tell how dedicated to this I am, huh?


Unfortunately, with a sick baby and a traveling husband, I haven’t been to the gym much this week.  I went tonight and had to stop 20 minutes into my run.  I was so disappointed.  What happened to my newfound runner within?  Why can’t I put together multiple good runs?  Why can’t I “jones” to put on my Nikes and hit the pavement?  Why can’t I become lean and lithe because my addiction to running is taking over my addiction to Edy’s Take the Cake ice cream and Whole Foods Chicken Salad?

I have some friends that claim they love to run.  They continue to enter and complete marathons all over the country.  I want to be that person… but really I’m the person that would like to sleep in and cheer them on before I enjoy a chocolate croissant and a cup of coffee in a street side cafe.  Then I would do a little big city shopping and catch my aforementioned friend at the finish line.

Why, why, why can’t I be a runner?



2 thoughts on “WHY? WHY? WHY?

  1. Amy, I've been working with a personal trainer at 24 Hour Fitness. It's been good for me, but this last week she was out of town. And I was so not motivated to go to the gym, plus my DD has not been sleeping well and hubby is studing for an USAF promotion exam. Anyhoo. . .one of my blog's is about my battle with working out – getting and staying motivated. Maybe we could sort of encourage one another with the goals we have. Thoughts? BTW, I did read your blog about Fit Minded and I think it is a great concept. Sorry for the novel of a comment!

Leave a Reply

